---
title: "Introducing the DirectRouting User"
slug: "what-is-a-directrouting-user"
updated: 2025-06-17T19:04:02Z
published: 2025-06-17T19:04:02Z
canonical: "kb.connecttoteams.com/what-is-a-directrouting-user"
---

> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.connecttoteams.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Introducing the DirectRouting User

## **What is a DirectRouting User?**

To automate the [Direct Routing setup](/v1/docs/set-up-direct-routing), we use an SSL-certified single-purpose domain unique for each Direct Route. This domain appears as `cust####.sbc.connecttoteams.com`.

ConnecttoTeams **creates a new Microsoft user in the enterprise called “DirectRouting User” with a UserName 'donotdelete' in the special domain cust####.sbc.connecttoteams.com.** ConnecttoTeams **assigns this User an available Microsoft User license and Phone System, or comparable, add-on.**

The [DirectRouting user](/v1/docs/what-is-a-directrouting-user) is an arcane necessity in order to “anchor” the domain we create for the direct routing setup. If you just create a domain, but you don’t put a user in it, it isn’t “real” as far as Microsoft systems are concerned.

The licenses are assigned to the Direct Routing user for much the same reason. They need to be there during the creation of the direct route, but the licenses can be reclaimed once the direct route is established.

The DirectRouting user, however, needs to remain (though it does not need any licenses after setup).

Once Direct Routing is set up, the “Direct Routing User” Microsoft licenses can be unassigned and used elsewhere. There will be one Direct Routing User created for each Direct Route configured for the enterprise, and each user will consume a Microsoft license during setup.

Note that the Direct Routing user does not need to log in, and you can Block login for this user in the Microsoft Admin center:

![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/312e5ae5-e3c1-465d-8e37-f253a7ba8eee/Images/Documentation/image(215).png)

> [!CAUTION]
> Do not delete DirectRouting User
> 
> Do not remove the "DirectRouting User" from the Microsoft Enterprise. **Doing so will disrupt Direct Routing functionality.**

## Suggested Further Reading

- [Set up Direct Routing](/v1/docs/set-up-direct-routing)
- [Recoup the License from DirectRouting User After Direct Routing Setup](/v1/docs/recoup-the-license-from-directrouting-user)
